Introductions — Or, How Lo Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Makeup

lo

Makeup didn’t make its first appearance in my life until around the time I started puberty. I had no sisters, no aunts, and my mom always went au naturel. This isn’t to say I wasn’t aware of makeup (in American culture, that would be damn near impossible), it just didn’t hold any real appeal to me.

At the age of 13, I attended a Mary Kay party my friend was hosting. The spread was absolutely breathtaking, but I had no idea where to start. I must have looked pretty lost, because the Mary Kay rep took pity on me and gave me a free tube of lipstick. It was a dusty rose color and when I saw it on, I felt so….mature.

And so my makeup journey began.

Those first 10 years were a mess. I made every makeup mistake in the book. I wore the wrong foundation for my skin tone, ringed my eyes in black liner, coated my mascara until it clumped to high heaven, didn’t moisturize (ever) — the list goes on. In a pre-YouTube era, there simply wasn’t anyone to teach me how to do things right.

But slowly, as time went by, I began to pick a few things up. Before I knew it, I was a full fledged makeup junkie.

A few months ago, Trisha and I started tipping each other off when we discovered new products. Because Trisha is vegan, I had to be mindful that the products I suggested were as well. The more I started thinking about it, the more I realized there was no reason I shouldn’t go cruelty free. I love animals, and I don’t think they should be harmed just because I want the perfect shade of blush.

And so, here begins the newest phase of my makeup journey. I’m so glad to have you along!

The Routine

Updated 7/1/2016 with new, cruelty free products.

  • Tools:
    • Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge
    • Real Techniques Core Collection Brushes
    • Susenstone Makeup Brush Set (cheap but effective)
  • Clean: LUSH “Let the Good Times Roll” facial cleanser
  • Moisturize: LUSH “Skin Drink” moisturizer
  • Prime: NYX Born to Glow Illuminating Primer
  • Foundation: It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream with SPF 50+ in Fair
  • Conceal: 
    • Tony Moly Panda’s Dream Brightening Eye Base
  • Highlight: NYX Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator in Sunbeam
  • Finish: It Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores Pressed Anti-Aging Finishing Powder
  • Brows: NYX Automatic Eyebrow Pencil in Medium Brown
  • Prime: Urban Decay Original Eyeshadow Primer Potion
  • Eyeshadow:
    • It Cosmetics Naturally Pretty Vol 1 Matte Luxe Transforming Eyeshadow Palette
    • Coastal Scents Revealed Palette
  • Line: 
    • NYX Collection Noir Liquid Black Liner
    • NYX Super Skinny Eye Marker
  • Lash: Tarte Gifted Amazonian Clay Smart Mascara
  • Blush:
    • ModelCo Blush Cheek Powder in Peach Bellini
    • NYX Cream Blush in Hot Pink
  • Prep:
    • LUSH Popcorn Lip Scrub
    • Skinfix Lip Repair Balm
  • Prime: NYX Lip Primer in Nude
  • Color: 
    • NYX High Voltage Lipstick in multiple shades
    • NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in multiple shades
    • NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in multiple shades
    • Dose of Colors Matte Liquid Lipstick in Berry Me 2 & Coral Crush
    • The Lip Bar Signature Cocktails Lipstick in Purple Rain
    • Too Faced Melted Matte Liquified Long Wear Lipstick in Queen B
    • Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Mother
  • Finish: NYX Wonder Pencil in Light
  • Set:
    • Urban Decay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray
    • NYX Dewy Finish Makeup Setting Spray
Leave a Reply

