Introductions – My Face, My Rules

IMG_1825

I’d like to open up a little bit in order for us to get to know each other. I come from an extremely conservative family. Cutting your hair short and wearing bold makeup is not something that women do in my family. That being said, my family loves me for who I am – even if that’s a bit zany and eccentric from time to time. Needless to say, it’s taken me quite a long time to come to terms with my femininity and embrace my “alternative” side.

I wasn’t interested in wearing dresses, curling my hair, or putting makeup on my face for most of my childhood and young adulthood. I didn’t like playing with baby dolls or pretending to be a princess (although I did love tea parties and barbies).  I actually desperately wanted to be one of the boys. If you can picture a Blink 182 poster circa 2000…that’s about right.

Of course, I went through the smudged black eyeliner and heaps of mascara phase around my junior year of high school. By the time I was 18 I thought it was necessary to pierce my lip and get a few tattoos to tell the world I was a rebel (LOL).

Over the next few years I started to experiment with dying my hair and trying some makeup products here and there. I became more comfortable with my image and the statement I was showing the world through my makeup. I realized that everyone expresses themselves so differently using the medium of makeup. No one look is the same as another. So, I began to enjoy the idea of showing my individualism to the world.

The sheer talent and creativity that goes into makeup artistry is what lures me in. I am so blown away by the expertise and originality many of my own friends possess. As someone who has always dabbled in the arts, I now see our faces as a canvas – each unique and beautiful just the way they are, but with so much potential for expression.  I’ve never felt more at home in my own skin than I do now.

From time to time I mess around with SFX-type makeup, which is an absolute blast. If you ever want to see any tutorials going forward just let me know.

IMG_1585 IMG_1581 IMG_1579 IMG_1525

I’m a character. I’m weird and quirky (and I absolutely love that about myself) and don’t always do things the right way, but I hope you can look past that and I can at least entertain you for a moment.

Although I am far from a professional, I take a lot of pleasure in making myself up. Things you should know about me and my makeup style: I like a strong brow and a bold lip and I always wear glasses with every single look.

I guess I should also say that I’m a vegan 🙂 Over 4 years ago I decided to make the change to a lifestyle without any animal products. I don’t eat animal products and I don’t wear them (on my face or otherwise) I’ve never been happier and don’t plan on going back anytime soon.

I want to learn from all of you and just have as much fun with my makeup as possible. Here is what I do to my face pretty much everyday. Let’s chat about all the makeup things together 🙂

Leave a Reply

