Introductions – Exploring Chelsy’s Lack of Makeup Knowledge

10393771_10203053991051778_1294064803968406939_nI spend a good portion of my days in a chat with Lo and Trisha reading their discussions about makeup, and most of the time I have no idea what the hell they are talking about. When they discussed starting a makeup blog, I figured I could learn something from them and try to step up my embarrassingly uneducated makeup routine. When they discussed the blog being specific to cruelty free products I knew I wanted to be a part of it. However, I’m really out of my element here.

I was raised by just my Dad and didn’t exactly have a female figure in my life teaching me about makeup. I started off with the typical blue eyeshadow routine of many middle schoolers, but by the time I turned 13 my style and makeup routine changed drastically. When I entered high school I was a full-out goth kid complete with black lipstick, spikes, and fishnet. I wore black everything, listened to heavy metal, got myself into a lot of trouble, and was as angsty as they come. My makeup routine was basically just smudging black eyeshadow onto my face. Don’t get me wrong, that angsty girl is still inside me somewhere, black is still my preferred clothing color, and my music taste is similar – but I’ve decided to hang up my spikes and bondage pants forever.

I began working in Alaska when I was in college and continued to work seasonally for the 12193670_10205211770994928_1252976939917621296_nnext five years. From then on my everyday makeup was as simple as it could be, and continues to be that way today. As long as my face had some foundation on it and my eyes were done I just threw on my hat and went on my way to work in the wilderness. If I’m going out I’ll use some brow liner, something on my lips, and some fake lashes, but otherwise my routine is as simple as it was working in Alaska.

Through this blog and learning from Trisha and Lo I’d like to find a way to keep my routine simple while still knowing my shit. I will never be the girl that spends more than ten minutes on her makeup or puts on a dozen different products every morning, but it might be cool to not just fall asleep with my makeup on every night and try to rock yesterday’s eye makeup all the time. This blog will follow my journey from being a makeup novice buying what’s cheap and not taking care of my skin, to (hopefully) having an understanding of makeup, buying what’s cruelty free, and understanding how to take care of my skin at the same time.

My Routine

All of these products are what I’ve been using for ages. I’ve always bought what’s cheap and easy to get, so 99% of it is not cruelty free. I’ll be making my transition to cruelty free makeup on this blog where I’ll look to find amazing cruelty free products that feel good on my skin, keep my routine simple, and don’t break my bank. For now, this is what I’m wearing:

Tools:

  • A cheap makeup brush set from the dollar store
  • The brush that comes with my makeup

Clean/Moisturize:

  • Water
  • Moisturize?

Foundation:

  • Covergirl Outlast 3 in 1 Foundation – Ivory*

Powder:

  • Covergirl Pressed Powder for sensitive skin – Classic Ivory*

Liner:

  • Rimmel London Soft Kohl eyeliner pencil – Jet Black*

Eyeshadow:

  • L.A. Colors 12 color eyeshadow palette – Assorted browns*

Mascara:

  • Covergirl Flamed Out mascara – Very Black*

Blush:

  • Covergirl Cheekers Blush – Deep plum*

Brows:

  • Revlon Brow Fantasy 2 in 1 – Brunette*

Lips:

  • Carmex Moisture Plus – Satin gloss finish
Leave a Reply

