Chelsy is a Unicorn Now

So the three of us bunnies had a work Christmas party together and we exchanged gifts. Trisha gifted Lo and I with amazing Lush products, I gifted the girls with some new Kat Von D lip shades, and Lo turned me and Trisha into unicorns.

Despite my naturally un-girly tendencies and demeanor, I fucking love unicorns. I’ve loved them since I was a small child. My living room has a giant unicorn mural fathead on the wall that was a gift from my husband, there’s a unicorn figurine on my desk at work, I love Lisa Frank, and The Last Unicorn is among my favorite movies.

Now, I’ll get back to the lipstick. Too Faced La Crème Color Drenched Lipstick comes in a

unicorntears
The lipstick on it’s own

shade called Unicorn Tears. So, naturally, I was super excited about it. The exciting thing about this iridescent shade of lipstick is that under other circumstances I never would have purchased it if it didn’t have the name it has. Shimmery, glittery things aren’t usually my go-to picks for makeup, or anything else, really. But I was excited about this because of it’s name. Sometimes it’s nice to have an excuse to try something new.

So I wore this lipstick by itself for a few hours, on top of another lip shade for a few hours, and I wore it by itself while celebrating New Years. It’s definitely not an everyday shade for me, but the color was somehow subtle and eye catching at the same time. It was hydrating, soft, and easy to put on without having to be precise – which I love. It does transfer, but the transfer didn’t bother me much since it’s so light. On top of another lipstick (Too Faced Melted Matte Long Wear Lipstick – Queen B) it was super subtle and offered a nice shimmer to the color.

layered
The lipstick layered

On it’s own on New Years it had to battle with snacking and drinking, so I had to reapply it a few times. Ordinarily this would really bother me, but it was like putting on chapstick so I didn’t have to go to the bathroom and try to drunkenly stay in the lines when I had to reapply. The color shows up with a little pink, purple, and silver and really pops the more passes you make on your lips. For me, I prefer just one so it’s more of a subtle shimmer. I imagine many people will use this as a layering lipstick, but either way I think it’s a versatile lipstick depending on what you’re wearing it for. My husband saw me wearing it for the first time and said, “Your lipstick is so… intergalactic,” so I definitely plan on wearing it if I’m ever in space.

This is the second lipstick by Too Faced that I own and I am really impressed with this brand. Granted, I only own three lipsticks… but still. As someone that doesn’t have much patience for lipstick on a daily basis, both their long wear  and color drenched lipsticks have impressed me in different ways.

To sum up, this lipstick is a little out of my norm but that’s really what I enjoyed about wearing it. It’s unique, it’s gorgeous, and comfortable to wear. Thanks, Lo, for the amazing Christmas gift!

If you need me, I’ll be gallivanting around in my new life as a majestic unicorn.

 

 

Leave a Reply

