Guest Bunny – Caitlin

Right now Caitlin is a sultry redhead, but in the past she’s been dyed black, purple, blonde, brown, and probably a ton of colors in between. As a former hair color schizophrenic myself, I quickly related to her purple hair choices when I first met her. Since then we’ve bonded over our love of dogs, some whiney early 2000’s rock, and cheap wine with screw bottle tops. Her makeup is unreal – like, literally unreal. Caitlin might not be real. No ones face looks like that… As a result, she’s become the resident makeup expert among our friend group and is commonly given the difficult task of doing ALL of our makeup for ALL events (sorry, Caitlin. Kinda). And now I’m picking her brain for this blog. Welcome, Caitlin!

18337313_10209196497290595_735007257_nI’m Caitlin and I’ve gone through my fair share of ups and downs when it comes to makeup. My fascination with makeup started at the young age of three, when I thought blush was two circles on each cheek and eye shadow only came in the color blue (picture Mimi from the Drew Carey Show). This phase didn’t last very long, as I grew up with three older brothers. I learned very early on to be rough and tumble, and makeup just didn’t really fit with that anymore. Fast forward to Avril Lavigne’s prime, I know right? I threw black liner on like it was going out of style, which really pleased my parents, but I finally felt comfortable wearing my tomboy outfits and makeup simultaneously. It was at that point that I realized I could express myself with makeup and still kick ass.

What type of makeup can you not live without?

This might be boring, but I couldn’t go without mascara. Having blonde eyebrows is one thing, but blonde eyelashes too? I mean come-on, I’m not trying to scare the entire neighborhood.

What’s the best makeup tip you can give to idiots like Chelsy that don’t know shit about makeup?

Make sure to use transition shades! When I first started using makeup, I had no idea this was thing. Then again I started with a lot of black liner, so there was a lot I didn’t know. Using transition shades builds up the color in the crease gradually and allows you to create multi toned looks that blend out seamlessly.

How comfortable do you feel wearing no makeup at all?

I feel pretty comfortable without makeup. It has definitely been a struggle to get to that point, but I think that all has to do with maturity.

Do you apply your foundation with a brush, sponge, or fingers?

I always use a Beauty Blender, or some other off brand sponge. I feel that it creates a much smoother surface and distributes the foundation a lot more evenly. This seems to give my skin more of a natural look without getting caked up throughout the day.

On average, how many days a week do you wash your face instead of sleeping with makeup on? How serious are you about skin care?

I wash my face every single night. I absolutely cannot stand to sleep with makeup on. Some days I get home from work and wash my face straight away, if I’m feeling saucy. I’ve always been somewhat obsessed with how my skin looks in general. Which is a huge part of makeup application actually. You can try all the liquid foundations, powders, etc. but they won’t give you the result you want unless your skin is properly taken care of.

Despite all of that, I don’t have an outrageous skincare routine. Other than cleansing my skin, I just make sure to moisturize every morning and exfoliate twice a week. Overdoing it on the skincare front tends to cause my skin to go in to panic mode.

Do you contour? If you do, what are your contouring tips?

I’ll contour if I feel like the look calls for it, or if I’m going out. The best tip I could give is to make sure you’re using a cooler tone to contour. Contour colors that are too warm for your skin tone create more of an orange cast than a natural shadow.

Who’s your makeup idol?

I will openly admit my makeup crush for a Swedish artist named Linda Hallberg. Her looks are absolutely insane and I’ve never seen anybody do what she does creatively.  I also have to give a shout out to my boy, Greg Nicotero, for creating the best zombie makeup’s I’ve ever seen.

What is your skin type?

My skin has changed drastically over the years, but I would currently say that it’s combination. Every day is a nice surprise.

What are some of your other obsessions?

If you read the makeup idol section, you may have figured out that I have a little obsession with zombies. This comes from my love for makeup FX and gore (at least you already knew I was a makeup junkie beforehand). Over the years, I’ve also found myself buying more and more of Funko’s Pop figures, because let’s face it, they’re adorable. I don’t have a lot of personal items in general, but my god, I have a shit load of action figures.

Oh, and my dog. He’s my ride or die B.

What do you think is your signature makeup look?

My go-to look tends to be a warm toned eye, just using a couple different shades. Combine this with a bit of bronzer, blush, and glaring highlight and I’m set.

Do you watch beauty tutorials on YouTube? Tell us who you love and why.

I kind of go through phases where I’m all about YouTube tutorials, and others where I don’t watch any for months. I’m currently not watching anything, but when I do, I love Rosalina Young Aka Ahitsrosa. She has a lot of really original looks and isn’t afraid to use a lot of color, here’s one of my favorites.

What is your beauty motto?

I’m not sure if I really have one. Do your thang!

Is there a makeup look you long for that you just can’t pull off or one that you haven’t been able to create?

Looks with a lot of color really intimidate me. This isn’t necessarily creating the look but trying to pull it off. I feel like it takes a certain person to actually rock a super vibrant eye and own it, *cough cough Ahitsrosa! She really is great, peep her Instagram.

How long does it take you to do your makeup on an average day?

Normally I would say about 15-20 minutes. If I made the mistake of putting liner on, I’m probably at 30 minutes and questioning all of my life decisions.

How much money per month would you say you spend on makeup? No judgement, our blog is called the three BROKE bunnies, after all.

Like many things, I tend to have my moments. There have been months I’ve spent $300+ on makeup and others where I don’t spend any. If I’m repurchasing my essentials like foundation, concealer and mascara, I’m probably spending around $30 every couple of months. This past year I did subscribe to BoxyCharm*, which costs me $21 a month but cuts down greatly on my need to buy so many new products.

Are you surprised that any of your makeup products are/aren’t cruelty free. Please speak on that.

I guess I can’t really say I’m surprised as much as I am disappointed. I had gone vegetarian about 8 years ago, and in doing so, started to research things that I wouldn’t have otherwise. When I had found out some products I was using weren’t cruelty free, it made me branch out more, which actually turned me on to brands that I love and use daily.  Most of the brands that I am die-hard for now are all cruelty free and won’t break the bank.

*Not all of BoxyCharm’s products are cruelty free

Heart_font_awesome.svg

Thank you, Caitlin, for being a Guest Bunny on our little makeup blog. Let’s all compare our Funko Pop collections someday!

Love,

The Bunnies 

Leave a Reply

